Restricting Content Access
IMPORTANT NOTE!
As of right now, right-clicking a content node in the backoffice will show an option to "Restrict public access".
This is a CMS-specific feature for member services that is not being used by the developer portal and as such will not result in any content restriction.
We are working to ensure this option is hidden in the future to avoid any confusion.
In order to restrict access to your content you should follow the steps below.
You can restrict access to a specific content node on the developer portal. This will in short ensure that specific content nodes can only be accessed and read by users that are either:
- Authorized on an NHN network
- Logged into the developer portal backoffice
Content that is restricted will also restrict access to all descendant content node via inheritance, if you wish to restrict access to an entire section you would only need to restrict access to the parent node of that section.
How it's done
In order to restrict access to content you need to be logged into the developer portal backoffice.
Navigate to the content node you wish to restrict and find the tab called "Utlisting":
On this tab you should be able to located a toggle called "Begrenset tilgang"
Simply toggle this value to be true / on and this content node should no longer be accessible for non-NHN users.
How it works
Once a content node is set to restricted, the following will be true:
- The content node is no longer readable for users not logged into an NHN network or the developer portal backoffice. Any user that tries to access the content via an absolute URL will be redirected to the landing page.
- The content node no longer shows up in any automatically created navigation. This includes:
- The landing page listing (if an entire service is set to restricted)
- Service-level navigation
- Breadcrumbs
- The content node and all descendants are excluded from search results.
Note that all user-created listings such as links on the header / footer menus, link box components, direct links in text content will still show up. Any user who tries to access content via such links will be redirected to the landing page if not authorized to view the content.
This covers how an editor can restrict access to specific and / or an entire set of content nodes on the developer portal.
Remember to be mindful of any user-created listings in your content when restricting access to a content node, ensure that any such listings are removed where applicable in order to limit end-user confusion when using the developer portal!